Bailey, Ershadi elected to Moab City Council
by Lisa Church
Staff Writer
Nov 07, 2013 | 4100 views | 0 0 comments | 87 87 recommendations | email to a friend | print
Voters elected Kyle Bailey to serve another term on the Moab City Council; newcomer Heila Ershadi will be joining him.
Voters elected Kyle Bailey to serve another term on the Moab City Council; newcomer Heila Ershadi will be joining him.
In January, city residents will see one new face on the Moab City Council. Voters on Nov. 5 elected Kyle Bailey and Heila Ershadi to fill two open at-large city council seats. Bailey, who received the highest vote tally in the three-person contest, was elected to his fifth consecutive term on the council. Ershadi is a newcomer to Moab politics.

Ershadi received 445 votes to defeat council incumbent Jeffrey Davis. Davis, who was seeking a fourth term in office, received 378 total votes, according to results posted by Moab City Recorder Rachel Stenta.

Moab Mayor Dave Sakrison, who ran unopposed for re-election, received 686 votes.

A total of 777 people – 28 percent of the city’s 2,818 registered active voters – cast ballots in the Moab city elections, city records show.

Registered active voters are those whose names appear in the official voter register, Stenta said.

Those whose names do not appear in the register may vote using provisional ballots. Election officials conduct further research to determine whether those voters who cast provisional ballots are actually eligible to vote in that specific election. In Tuesday’s Moab city election, 25 provisional ballots were cast.

City officials will conduct the final vote canvass on Tuesday, Nov. 12, Stenta said.

In the town of Castle Valley, Mayor Dave Erley was re-elected with 53 votes. His challenger, Oscar Duncan, who ran as a write-in candidate, received 36 votes. Castle Valley Town Council members Jazmine Duncan and Tory Hill both ran unopposed for re-election. Duncan received 81 votes and will serve a four-year council term. Hill, who ran for a two-year term, received 85 votes, according to Castle Valley Town Clerk Ali Fuller.

In Castle Valley, just over 32 percent of registered active voters cast ballots in the town election.

Four candidates were vying for three open seats on the Spanish Valley Water and Sewer Improvement District board. In that race, all three incumbents – Mike Holyoak, Tom Stengel and Gary Wilson – were re-elected to four-year terms on the board.

Stengel was the top vote-getter with 189 total votes. Wilson received 187 votes and Holyoak received 185 total votes. Challenger Bill Love received 117 votes.

Copyright 2013 The Times-Independent. All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten or redistributed.

report abuse...

Express yourself:

We're glad to give readers a forum to express their points of view on issues important to this community. That forum is the “Letters to the Editor.” Letters to the editor may be submitted directly to The Times-Independent through this link and will be published in the print edition of the newspaper. All letters must be the original work of the letter writer – form letters will not be accepted. All letters must include the actual first and last name of the letter writer, the writer’s address, city and state and telephone number. Anonymous letters will not be accepted.

Letters may not exceed 400 words in length, must be regarding issues of general interest to the community, and may not include personal attacks, offensive language, ethnic or racial slurs, or attacks on personal or religious beliefs. Letters should focus on a single issue. Letters that proselytize or focus on theological debates will not be published. During political campaigns, The Times-Independent will not publish letters supporting or opposing any local candidate. Thank you letters are generally not accepted for publication unless the letter has a public purpose. Thank you letters dealing with private matters that compliment or complain about a business or individual will not be published. Nor will letters listing the names of individuals and/or businesses that supported a cause or event. Thank you letters about good Samaritan acts will be considered at the discretion of the newspaper.