USU-Moab holds spring commencement ceremony
May 02, 2013 | 1910 views | 0 0 comments | 10 10 recommendations | email to a friend | print
USU-Moab spring 2013 graduates and faculty and commencement speakers pose after the April 25 ceremony. Courtesy photo
USU-Moab spring 2013 graduates and faculty and commencement speakers pose after the April 25 ceremony. Courtesy photo
Utah State University-Moab has announced that 16 students completed college degrees this spring. USU-Moab held its spring graduation ceremony on Thursday, April 25, at the Grand Center in Moab.

Two students received advanced degrees: Stephen Hren completed his doctorate degree in education and Robert I. Magelby earned a master of science degree in instructional technology and learning sciences. Hren graduated cum laude, while Magelby graduated magna cum laude.

Bachelor’s degrees in business were awarded to Sommar Johnson and Danielle Hansen. Alicia Cooper received a bachelor’s degree in family, consumer and human development; Shawn VanHorn received a bachelor’s degree in history; Alan Dennis and Valerie Patrick received bachelor’s degrees in interdisciplinary studies; and Katie Eberling, Amberlee Atwood Fielding, Joan Miller, and Shylo Robertson received bachelor’s degrees in social work, according to the information provided by USU-Moab.

Dennis and Fielding graduated cum laude, while Miller graduated magna cum laude.

Moab City Manager Donna Metzler delivered the commencement address. USU-Moab officials presented the family of Ruth James Dickerson with the  Community Service Award for 2013. Julianna Thurston accepted the award on behalf of the family. Members of the Dickerson family established a scholarship for education majors attending college in Moab.

Copyright 2013 The Times-Independent. All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten or redistributed.

report abuse...

Express yourself:

We're glad to give readers a forum to express their points of view on issues important to this community. That forum is the “Letters to the Editor.” Letters to the editor may be submitted directly to The Times-Independent through this link and will be published in the print edition of the newspaper. All letters must be the original work of the letter writer – form letters will not be accepted. All letters must include the actual first and last name of the letter writer, the writer’s address, city and state and telephone number. Anonymous letters will not be accepted.

Letters may not exceed 400 words in length, must be regarding issues of general interest to the community, and may not include personal attacks, offensive language, ethnic or racial slurs, or attacks on personal or religious beliefs. Letters should focus on a single issue. Letters that proselytize or focus on theological debates will not be published. During political campaigns, The Times-Independent will not publish letters supporting or opposing any local candidate. Thank you letters are generally not accepted for publication unless the letter has a public purpose. Thank you letters dealing with private matters that compliment or complain about a business or individual will not be published. Nor will letters listing the names of individuals and/or businesses that supported a cause or event. Thank you letters about good Samaritan acts will be considered at the discretion of the newspaper.