County appoints new members to planning commission, other boards
by Steve Kadel
staff writer
Dec 26, 2012 | 2055 views | 0 0 comments | 650 650 recommendations | email to a friend | print
A new member has been named to the Grand County Planning and Zoning Commission while the terms of two current members have had been extended.

The Grand County Council made appointments to various advisory boards and commissions during its meeting Tuesday, Dec.17.

On the planning commission, Mike Duncan was re-appointed to serve until 2016 and David Stolfa was re-appointed to fill a mid-term vacancy through 2013. The planning commission recommended they be named to the panel, along with first-time applicant Ryan McCandless.

However, the council voted to appoint Gerrish Willis for a full term that expires in 2016 rather than McCandless.

Council member Chris Baird made the motion to select Willis, saying, “He has considerable planning experience.”

Council member Audrey Graham agreed. “He does his homework,” she said.

Graham acknowledged the planning commission’s recommendation of McCandless, but explained, “We want their recommendations, but we don’t always go by them.”

During a previous planning commission meeting, McCandless acknowledged he had never attended a commission meeting. He said he wanted to learn about local issues.

Appointments to other bodies included:

• Grand County Board of Adjustment – James Hofmann was re-appointed until 2016, Russell Pogue replaces Dale Peterson for a full term until 2016, Sena Hauer will fill a vacancy ending in 2015, and Kyle Kimmerle will fill an alternate vacancy during 2013.

• Grand County Council on Aging –Adrien Taylor replaces Shawn Ellis for a full term that expires in 2016, Joe Chacon was re-appointed until 2016, and Sandy McKimmey replaces Suzanne Allemand for a four-year term.

• Grand County Library Board – Kathleen McHugh replaces Al McLeod for a full term expiring in 2016.

• Grand County Solid Waste Board – Kevin Fitzgerald was re-appointed for a four-year term.

• Moab Area Travel Council – Sam Wainer was re-appointed for a four-year term.

Copyright 2013 The Times-Independent. All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten or redistributed.

report abuse...

Express yourself:

We're glad to give readers a forum to express their points of view on issues important to this community. That forum is the “Letters to the Editor.” Letters to the editor may be submitted directly to The Times-Independent through this link and will be published in the print edition of the newspaper. All letters must be the original work of the letter writer – form letters will not be accepted. All letters must include the actual first and last name of the letter writer, the writer’s address, city and state and telephone number. Anonymous letters will not be accepted.

Letters may not exceed 400 words in length, must be regarding issues of general interest to the community, and may not include personal attacks, offensive language, ethnic or racial slurs, or attacks on personal or religious beliefs. Letters should focus on a single issue. Letters that proselytize or focus on theological debates will not be published. During political campaigns, The Times-Independent will not publish letters supporting or opposing any local candidate. Thank you letters are generally not accepted for publication unless the letter has a public purpose. Thank you letters dealing with private matters that compliment or complain about a business or individual will not be published. Nor will letters listing the names of individuals and/or businesses that supported a cause or event. Thank you letters about good Samaritan acts will be considered at the discretion of the newspaper.