County council adopts 2013 budget, thanks outgoing members
by Steve Kadel
staff writer
Dec 26, 2012 | 2683 views | 0 0 comments | 6 6 recommendations | email to a friend | print
The Grand County Council adopted a 2013 county budget Tuesday, Dec. 17, that is essentially the same as the county budget from this year.

The $20 million operating budget for the coming year does not raise property taxes or add new employees to the payroll.

“Thanks to the whole county for being very efficient with the taxpayers’ money,” council member Chris Baird said after the measure passed by unanimous vote. “This kind of budget doesn’t just happen.”

Baird, who will be leaving office at the end of the month, urged incoming council members to expect the same frugality from department heads in the future. He also advised county officials to keep the tough economy in mind as they weigh money matters.

Council member Audrey Graham, who also leaves office this month, said she was happy to see the council allocate more money to the Grand County Road Department next year without increasing the overall budget or raising taxes.

The only growth in next year’s budget will be an additional $760,000 anticipated from the Transient Room Tax, which will go from 3 percent to 4.25 percent starting Tuesday, Jan. 1.

Besides holding the line against a property tax increase in 2013, the budget doesn’t include a cost-of-living increase for county employees. Grand County Clerk and Auditor Diana Carroll said some workers who had been receiving lower salaries than their counterparts elsewhere in the state got a small boost in salary earlier this year.

Last week’s meeting was the last one the council will hold this year. At its conclusion, council chairman Gene Ciarus presented plaques of appreciation to Baird, Graham and Chris Conrad, who has been a council member since 2009 and also is leaving office.

“I very much enjoyed this,” said Graham, who has served on the council since 2005.

“I’ll miss everybody,” said Baird, a council member since 2009. “The best part about being a council member is the chance to meet so many great people.”

Grand County Attorney Andrew Fitzgerald gave the departing trio a pat on the back, thanking them for service that takes time from members’ regular work and family time.

“The public doesn’t know how much time council members put in,” he said. “It’s often a thankless job and it’s easy to be critical of council members.”

New Grand County Council members Lynn Jackson, Rory Paxman and Elizabeth Tubbs will be sworn in at 9 a.m. Wednesday, Jan. 2, during a ceremony at the courthouse. They won council seats in the Nov. 6 general election, with Jackson and Tubbs running unopposed while Paxman narrowly defeated Kalen Jones.

Incumbent council member Ken Ballantyne won re-election in his race against Joe Downard, but does not legally need to be sworn in, county officials said.

Copyright 2013 The Times-Independent. All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten or redistributed.

report abuse...

Express yourself:

We're glad to give readers a forum to express their points of view on issues important to this community. That forum is the “Letters to the Editor.” Letters to the editor may be submitted directly to The Times-Independent through this link and will be published in the print edition of the newspaper. All letters must be the original work of the letter writer – form letters will not be accepted. All letters must include the actual first and last name of the letter writer, the writer’s address, city and state and telephone number. Anonymous letters will not be accepted.

Letters may not exceed 400 words in length, must be regarding issues of general interest to the community, and may not include personal attacks, offensive language, ethnic or racial slurs, or attacks on personal or religious beliefs. Letters should focus on a single issue. Letters that proselytize or focus on theological debates will not be published. During political campaigns, The Times-Independent will not publish letters supporting or opposing any local candidate. Thank you letters are generally not accepted for publication unless the letter has a public purpose. Thank you letters dealing with private matters that compliment or complain about a business or individual will not be published. Nor will letters listing the names of individuals and/or businesses that supported a cause or event. Thank you letters about good Samaritan acts will be considered at the discretion of the newspaper.