Council receives liaison assignments
Feb 07, 2013 | 1581 views | 0 0 comments | 6 6 recommendations | email to a friend | print
Last month, Grand County Council members were assigned liaison duties to various boards and committees.

Those assignments include:

Gene Ciarus – Association of Local Governments, Bureau of Land Management, Children’s Justice Center Advisory Board, Travel Council Advisory Board and Canyon Country Partnership.

Lynn Jackson – Film Commission Committee, Historical Preservation Commission, Planning Commission, Sand Flats Stewardship Commission and Trail Mix Committee.

Jim Nyland – Hazmat/Local Emergency Planning Committee, Old Spanish Trail Arena Advisory Committee, Recreation Special Service District Board and Transportation Special Service District Board.

Ken Ballantyne – Accident Review and Safety Committee, Canyonlands Healthcare Special Service District Board, Grand County Public Library Board, Mosquito Abatement District Board and Star Hall Advisory Committee.

Elizabeth Tubbs – Homeless Coordinating Committee, Housing Authority Board, Affordable Housing Task Force, Mental Health Board, Public Health Board, Thompson Springs Fire District Board and Thompson Special Service District Water Board.

Pat Holyoak – Cemetery Maintenance District Board, Council on Aging, Dewey Bridge Restoration Committee, Utah State University Advisory Board, Water District Board and Boundary Committee.

Rory Paxman – Airport Board, Chamber of Commerce, Solid Waste Management Special Service District Board and Weed Control Board.

Jackson and Holyoak will also both be liaisons to the Moab Tailings Project Steering Committee.

Copyright 2013 The Times-Independent. All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten or redistributed.

report abuse...

Express yourself:

We're glad to give readers a forum to express their points of view on issues important to this community. That forum is the “Letters to the Editor.” Letters to the editor may be submitted directly to The Times-Independent through this link and will be published in the print edition of the newspaper. All letters must be the original work of the letter writer – form letters will not be accepted. All letters must include the actual first and last name of the letter writer, the writer’s address, city and state and telephone number. Anonymous letters will not be accepted.

Letters may not exceed 400 words in length, must be regarding issues of general interest to the community, and may not include personal attacks, offensive language, ethnic or racial slurs, or attacks on personal or religious beliefs. Letters should focus on a single issue. Letters that proselytize or focus on theological debates will not be published. During political campaigns, The Times-Independent will not publish letters supporting or opposing any local candidate. Thank you letters are generally not accepted for publication unless the letter has a public purpose. Thank you letters dealing with private matters that compliment or complain about a business or individual will not be published. Nor will letters listing the names of individuals and/or businesses that supported a cause or event. Thank you letters about good Samaritan acts will be considered at the discretion of the newspaper.